What is an MS4?

MS4s are conveyances or systems of conveyances including roads with drainage systems, municipal streets, catch basins, curbs, gutters, ditches, man-made channels, or storm drains that are owned or operated by a public entity, are designed or used for collecting or conveying stormwater, and are not a combined sewer or part of a publicly owned treatment works. A municipality is bound by US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) regulations for an MS4 when all or a portion of a municipality lies within an urbanized area (UA), as determined by the US Census Bureau.


The Township Commissioners will hear any comments or questions regarding the content of the MS4 Program or report of any suspected violations or concerns, at the monthly Caucus public meeting, scheduled the second Tuesday of each month (except November) at 6:00PM.  Meetings shall be held at the Mel Weinstein Municipal Building, 340 Forest Grove Road, Coraopolis, PA 15108.


Kennedy Township has been granted a Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4) Permit by the Pennsylvania DEP. This permit lasts for 5 years and establishes what the responsibilities of the Municipality, land owners, and the residents are. In this permit, there are six Minimum Control Measures (MCMs) that have goals which the Municipality must meet. It is important for everyone to be educated on stormwater and the requirements of the MS4 permit.

The following are web site links that you may visit to further inform you of the details and importance of the MS4 program:

Three Rivers Wet Weather Website

SPC’s Water Resource Center Website

Allegheny County Conservation District Website

PA DEP MS4 Website